CMS advice please

Hi Folks,

I’ve been asked to build a new corporate website for a mid sized but professional company and they will need some kind of CMS so they can update news articles and add new product information etc.

I’ve never built anything with a CMS before but I’m sure I can handle it with RW. I’ll be using UIKit to build the site and wanted to ask any of you that have the experience, which in your opinion is the most ‘professional’ of the CMS options out there. I know Total CMS is mentioned a lot on here so that’s probably a short-lister but there are others too, Armadillo for eg.

My main criteria are that the end user will find it straight forward to add content into a template I’ve set up etc. and it must be able to handle video/image uploads, file downloads (like pdf data sheets etc.) and such.
I used to use Wordpress years ago and I hated it as it was so clunky and prone to update problems so I want something much simpler to use than that but something quite robust that won’t come back to bite me once it’s all handed over to the client.

Any advice much appreciated.
Cheers,
Roger

If the client wants to be able to add entire pages, and style these pages themselves, plus add content, RW really isn’t the tool IMO.

There are CMS tools out there for RW that will kinda allow this, but to my mind it’s like forcing a square peg into a round hole: With a big enough hammer it can be done, but the end results are rarely pretty.

Saying that though, letting a client add pages is a car crash waiting to happen!

So, if you can explain in a lot more details what you want to be able to do, I and others with experience of CMS inside RW can advise.

1 Like

Hi Steve,

Yeah, the problem is that at the moment it’s very early stages and the job may not even happen so I don’t really have a lot more detail. :-(