Floating body question [solved]

This is one of those stupid second-guessing things, but…

I want to have a floating “body” in the middle of the page, like so

The quickest way I’ve found to do this is this:

04%20AM

Outside of this approach, how would one go about this? I know this is a vague question, but I’m a total newby at uikit, and I’m trying to learn more than one way of doing things.

Thanks.

What do you want the element to do? Stay in view, scroll with the page? Stay the same width as the screen size changes? Retain a percentage width of the screen? Etc.

A valid question, and probably one I should have answered earlier.

I just want the “panel” to resize responsively as the page resizes. It seems to work – at least in Safari responsive design mode. The left and right margins shrink as it gets closer to mobile size, which is what I want.

I know that I’m probably overthinking this, but it seems too simple to be the correct approach, and so I was wondering if anyone sees a problem with it.

Thanks for the response.

@steveb - I realized that my last message sounded like “thanks - end of issue” – not my intent. I’d still like your feedback if any. Or failing that, a pointer to a section of Skyline that addresses this issue :)

Hi, sorry, forgot yo reply earlier. I’d say if it’s doing what you want, it’s fine. You’ve certainly not overdone anything and kept it simple. So all good I’d say.

Thanks. To close this on a positive note, I’d like to say that studying the @UiKitter stuff is helping me make…well, not great strides, but pretty large strides for someone who was still doing layout with tables more recently than I’d care to admit.

2 Likes