Help before buying/starting a shop site please

Hello Lovely people,

My wife is an artist and currently has her site hosted on squarespace (https://www.ninaharris.co.uk/).

We’d like to take it away from squarespace and also integrate a shop so people can order prints etc online. Now that I am a Rapidweaver demon…(ok you can stop laughing now), I’ve foolishly told her that I can do that for her.

Before I risk scuppering the nice dinners and sleeping in the same bed I thought I’d better ask you lot some advice, as I’ve never done shop/cms before… so here goes.

We basically want a gallery site with different sections for different subjects, with the option to ‘add to cart’ for each image, then a dropdown type thing to choose small print, big print, framed print etc. etc.

I’ll be building this in UIKit, so whatever I use must work with that. I’m thinking an e-commerce stack like Rapidcart Pro would be perfect for this? Or is that overkill?

She will want to be able to add and update images herself, without asking me all the time (in case she’s kicked me out!). So I need a simple to use but nice and intuitive CMS that won’t be too hard for me to integrate into a gallery site. (I’m ok with css etc. but not a coder). OR, does Rapidcart (or other shop solutions) handle the ‘cms’ bit and add products to a page I can style, therefore not needing a custom cms system?

She only wants to take payments via her Paypal account, which is not a commercial one, so I’m hoping we’ll be OK for the whole SCA thing? (@steveb I’m sure you can advise on that one)

She will want to be able to take payments from abroad as a lot of her customers are outside the uk, but I guess paypal handles all that? We’ll just add postage and packing…

She won’t be adding new stuff every day, so it doesn’t have to be a huge commercial type thing.

Just thought I’d ask as I’m sure some of you will have been down this road already.

Many thanks.