You’ll likely have to do this “offline”. If you restore the mbox and then start Mail, it will sync to Gmail and remove them immediately. Having no internet connection enabled should allow you to prevent that.
Are the messages no longer in the Gmail interface? I don’t use it much, but I thought they still keep messages after being deleted.